Dates of Meeting: 01-10-1949 Type of Meeting: 1st meeting CPGC Place of Meeting: Beijing

Attendance:

Mao Zedong chairs. Mao Zedong Zhu De Liu Shaoqi Song Qingling Zhang Lan Gao Gang Chen Yi He Long Lin Boqu He Xiangning Liu Bocheng Wu Yuzhang Peng Zhen Bo Yibo Zhou Enlai Dong Biwu Saifuding Chen Jiageng Luo Ronghuan Ulanfu Xu Teli Cai Chang Liu Geping Ma Yinchu Chen Yun Ma Xulun Guo Moruo Zhang Yunyi Deng Xiaoping Gao Chongmin Shen Junru Shen Yanbing Chen Xutong Situ Meitang Li Xijiu Huang Yanpei Cai Tingkai Peng Zemin Zhang Zhizhong Fu Zuoyi Li Zhuchen Zhang Bojun Cheng Qian Zhang Xiruo Chen Mingshu Tan Pingshan Zhang Nanxian Zhang Dongsun The following 12 members of the Central People's Government failed to attend the meeting: Nie Rongzhen is busy in front of the Tiananmen Gate for the final inspection Ye Jianying [in Guangzhou Lin Biao in southern Hunan Peng Dehuai in the Hexi Corridor Xi Zhongxun in Xi'an Rao Shushi in Shanghai Kang Sheng in Jinan Deng Zihui in Wuhan Lin Feng in Shenyang Xu Xianggian Recuperates in Qingdao due to illness Long Yun [specially invited person] has moved from Kunming to Hong Kong Li Zhangda is still stranded in Sichuan, which is to be liberated. Major Agenda Items: Establishment of government Speeches/Reports:

Other Decisions and/or Actions:

The conference proclaimed the establishment of the Central People's Government of the People's Republic of China. The conference unanimously decided to accept the "Common Program of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference" as the government's policy guidelines. The conference adopted the "Announcement of the Central People's Government of the People's Republic of China," declaring this government as the sole legitimate government of China, willing to establish diplomatic relations with foreign governments that adhere to the principles of equality, mutual benefit, and mutual respect for territorial sovereignty. Lin Bogu was elected as the Secretary-General of the Central People's Government Committee; Zhou Enlai was appointed as the Premier of the State Council and Minister of Foreign Affairs; Dong Biwu, Chen Yun, Guo Moruo, and Huang Yanpei were appointed as Vice Premiers. Mao Zedong was appointed as the Chairman of the People's Revolutionary Military Commission, Zhu De as the Commander-in-Chief of the Chinese People's Liberation Army, Xu Xianggian as the Chief of the General Staff, and Nie Rongzhen as the Deputy Chief of the General Staff. Shen Junru was appointed as the President of the Supreme People's Court, and Luo Ronghuan as the Procurator-General of the Supreme People's Procuratorate. They were instructed to promptly establish various government agencies and implement government work. The conference lasted for over forty minutes, with a serious yet excited atmosphere. During the discussions, Mao Zedong humorously and sentimentally remarked, "After decades of exhausting warfare, we have established the People's Republic of China today, which marks the first day of our nation-building. It feels like another weary battle. I haven't slept much, and now I have to stand at Tiananmen Square for hours. It seems our destiny is to fight exhaustion!" After a few minutes of conversation among the delegates, Zhou Enlai glanced at his watch, indicating that it was two fifty. He stood up and loudly declared, "It's time. Please rise and participate in the ceremony!" The inaugural ceremony was held at Tiananmen Square at 3 p.m.

Announcement of the Central People's Government of the People's Republic of China

Since Chiang Kai-shek's Kuomintang reactionary government betrayed the motherland, colluded with imperialism, and launched a counter-revolutionary war, the people nationwide have been in dire straits. Fortunately, under the assistance of the people nationwide, our People's Liberation Army, in order to defend the territorial sovereignty of our motherland, safeguard the lives and property of the people, alleviate their suffering, and secure their rights, bravely fought against the reactionary forces and overthrew the Kuomintang's reactionary rule. Now that the people's revolutionary war has achieved basic victory and the majority of the people nationwide have been liberated, on this basis, the first plenary session of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference, composed of representatives of various democratic parties, people's organizations, the People's Liberation Army, regions, nationalities, overseas Chinese, and other patriotic democratic elements, has convened. Representing the will of the entire nation, it has formulated the Organic Law of the Central People's Government of the People's Republic of China, elected Mao Zedong as the Chairman of the Central People's Government, Zhu De, Liu Shaoqi, Soong Ching-ling, Li Jishen, Zhang Lan, and Gao Gang as Vice Chairpersons. Chen Yi, He Long, Li Lisan, Lin Bogu, Ye Jianying, He Xiangning, Lin Biao, Peng Dehuai, Liu Bocheng, Wu Yuzhang, Xu Xianggian, Peng Zhen, Bo Yibo, Nie Rongzhen, Zhou Enlai, Dong Biwu, Sai Fuding, Rao Shushi, Chen Jiageng, Luo Ronghuan, Deng Zihui, Ulanfu, Xu Teli, Cai Chang, Liu Geping, Ma Yinchu, Chen Yun, Kang Sheng, Lin Feng, Ma Xulun, Guo Moruo, Zhang Yunyi, Deng Xiaoping, Gao Chongmin, Shen Junru, Shen Yanbing, Chen Shutong, Situ Meitang, Li Xijiu, Huang Yanpei, Cai Tingkai, Xi Zhongxun, Peng Zemin, Zhang Zhizhong, Fu Zuo Yi, Li Zhuchen, Li Zhangda, Zhang Bojun, Cheng Qian, Zhang Xiruo, Chen Mingshu, Tan Pingshan, Zhang Nanxian, Liu Yazi, Zhang Dongsun, and Long Yun as members, forming the Central People's Government Committee. It declares the establishment of the People's Republic of China and decides that Beijing is the capital of the People's Republic of China. The Central People's Government Committee has been inaugurated in the capital today, and it has unanimously decided: to announce the establishment of the Central People's Government of the People's Republic Remarks: