1949	Meetings

#### Dates of Meeting:

15-06-1949 - 19-06-1949

Type of Meeting:

# Preparatory meeting of the CPPCC **Place of Meeting:**

Beijing

## Attendance:

135 participants from 23 organizations (one person did not attend)

#### Agenda:

Foreign policy, name of the republic

**Speeches and Reports:** 

Mao Zedong "ADDRESS TO THE PREPARATORY MEETING OF THE NEW POLITICAL CONSULTATIVE CONFERENCE" 15-06-1949

in control of several major cities, Mao states that he is willing to discuss establishing diplomatic relations with any foreign government on "the basis of the principles of equality, mutual benefit, and mutual respect for territorial integrity and sovereignty."

Liu Shaoqi "<u>Guiding principles for new China's economic development</u>" June 1949, probably held on this conference.

Zhou Enlai on organization June 16, 1949

Li Weihan June 16, 1949

### Other Decisions and/or Actions:

Adoption of

- "Organic Rules of the Preparatory Committee of the New Political Consultative Conference"
- "Provisions Regarding the Organizations and Groups Participating in the New Political Consultative Conference and the Size of Their Delegations"
- Election of a Standing Committee headed by Mao Zedong. Commander-in-Chief Zhu De and Li Jishen, Chairman of the Revolutionary Committee of the GMD. They were all charged with the responsibility of furthering the preparatory work of the Conference
- decided to hold a military parade at the PRC founding ceremony. Zhou Enlai was the committee director, Zhu De was the parade commander, Nie Rongzhen was the parade commander-in-chief, and Yang Chengwu, vice-commander of the North China Military Area Command, and Tang Yanjie, chief of staff, were the director and vice-director of the parade commanding office respectively.
- to establish six groups under the leadership of the Standing Committee of the Preparatory Committee for the New Political Consultative Conference. The leader and deputy leader of each group are designated by the Standing Committee of the Preparatory Committee of the New Political Consultative Conference:
- Group 1 task: the number of units and their representatives to participate in the new political consultation meeting
- Leader: Li Weihan
- Deputy Team Leader: Zhang Bojun
- Team members: Li Jishen, Shen Junru, Huang Yanpei, Ma Yinchu, Ma Xulun, Peng Zemin, Cao Mengjun, Tan Pingshan, Cai Tingkai, Chen Qiyou, Nie Rongzhen, Li Lisan, Zhu Fusheng, Chen Shutong, Zeng Zhaolan, Xu Deheng, Feng Wenbin, Cai Chang, Huang Zhensheng (Huang Hezhen), Luo Shuzhang, Tianbao, Chen Qiyuan
- Group 2 task: Drafting the Organizational Regulations of the New Political Consultative Conference
- Team leader: Tan Pingshan
- Deputy Team Leader: Zhou Xinmin
- Group members: Lin Zuhan, Li Dequan, Shi Fuliang (Sun Qimeng), Fu Dingyi, Wang Shao'ao , Guo Guanjie, Shi Liang (Zhang Manyun), Guo Chuntao (Wu Maosun), Jiang Guangnai (Qin Yuanbang), Lei Rongke, Yi Lirong, Zheng Zhenduo, Yu Huancheng, Ye Shengtao, Shen Zijiu, Li Xiuzhen, Chen Zhenzhong (Ge Zhicheng), Tianbao, Dai Ziliang
- Group 3 task: drafting a common program
- Leader: Zhou Enlai
- Deputy Team Leader: Xu Deheng

- Team members: Chen Shaoxian, Zhang Bojun, Zhang Naiqi, Li Da, Xu Guangping, Ji Fang, Shen Zhiyuan, Xu Baoju, Chen Cisheng, Huang Dingchen, Peng Dehuai, Luo Ruiqing, Zhu Xuefan, Zhang Ye, Li Zhuchen, Hou Wailu, Deng Chumin, Liao Chengzhi, Deng Yingchao, Xie Bangding, Zhou Jianren, Yang Jingren, Fei Zhendong, Luo Longji
- Group 4 task: drafting the government plan of the People's Democratic Republic of China
- Leader: Dong Biwu
- Deputy Team Leader: Huang Yanpei (represented by Zhang Xiruo away from usual)
- Team members: Zhang Wen, Shen Junru, Zhang Dongsun, Hu Juewen, Lin Liru, Lin Handa, Han Zhaoe, Li Zhangda, Wang Kunlun, Li Minxin, Chen Qiyou, Liu Bocheng, Qiu Jin, Shi Zhenming, Yu Huan Cheng, Zhang Zhirang, Xie Xuehong, Zhang Qinqiu, Nie Weiqing, Tang Guifen Lei Jieqiong, Zhu Dehai
- Group 5 task: drafting the declaration
- Leader: Guo Moruo
- Deputy Team Leader: Chen Shaoxian
- Group members: Mei Gongbin, Chu Tunan, Wu Yaozong, Qiu Zhe, Hu Yuzhi, Chen Mingshu, Jiang Guangnai, Qin Yuanbang, Huang Dingchen, Yang Gengtian, Li Zhuchen, Hong Shen, Hu Qiaomu, Deng Yuzhi, Yunze
- Group 6 task: drafting the national flag, national emblem and national anthem plan
- Team leader: Ma Xulun
- Deputy Team Leader: Ye Jianying (Because Ye Jianying was busy with work soon, Shen Yanbing was added as the deputy team leader to preside over the daily work )
- Team members: Zhang Xiruo, Tian Han, Shen Yanbing, Ma Yinchu, Zheng Zhenduo, Guo Moruo, Jian Bozan, Qian Sanqiang, Cai Chang, Li Lisan, Zhang Lan, Tan Kah Kee, Ouyang Yuqian, Liao Chengzhi

#### Remarks:

- 1. The Conference was called the New Political Consultative Conference to distinguish it from the Political Consultative Conference which had opened at Chungking on January 10, 1946. Its name was changed to the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference at its first plenary session on September 21, 1949.
- 2. Its 510 delegates will be drawn from 45 "representative units," to include: 14 political parties (142 delegates), most important of which will be the Communist party, the Kuomintang Revolutionary Committee, and the Democratic League (16 delegates each); 9 non-political regional groups (102 delegates), to be drawn from all parts of China; 6 army units (60 delegates), all of which, of course, are Communist; 16 people's organizations and groupings (206 delegates). This last group will comprise labor, peasant, women, youth, and student divisions, industrial and commercial circles, literary, scientific, educational, social science, and journalist groups, minority nationalities, "democratic overseas Chinese," and "democratic religious circles." D Bodde "Peking dairy" pg. 201